PDA

View Full Version : cataracts and red dot sights

tackstrp
10-04-2011, 11:07 AM
I have a Aimpont red dot sight on my Glock. Soon I will be having cataracts surgery. I have not decided on what type of lense to have installed. The red dot looks like a childs drawing of a sun, circle with spokes outsicde when i wear reading classes 2.0 from costco. The aimpoint works great without reading glasses

Anyway, if some one has had cataract surgery would like to hear your experience with aimpoint red dot sights and wha type of lense doctor used.

fecmech
10-04-2011, 12:40 PM
I have no experience with cataracts (yet) but do have 68 year old eyes that do not focus close for reading and iron sights. However I do see dot sights very clearly with my normal distance vision.

Freightman
10-04-2011, 03:23 PM
My surgery if you want to call it that put my eyes back to 20/20 at arms length to infinity, I only need reading glasses, and I can read without them but they are more comfortable to use.
Good luck on yours you will be surprised at the difference.

Greg B.
10-15-2011, 02:17 PM
I just had my second eye done with the mid price (long range) inserts. They are supposed to be better than the cheapest ones and since I have a stigmatism the most expensive models won't work. So far I have about 20/25 vision and don't wear glasses anymore although that might change for driving at night but not so far. i am typing this with a 125% enlargement although I could do it at the 100% standard.

Usually they do them one eye at a time and it can take awhile for the doc. to get the same eye test reading twice in a row. It took almost a year for my first eye to stabilize. Right now I am aiming my Ruger Blachhawk with factory iron sights and can see them just fine.