PDA

View Full Version : 1st CCW

Jamesconn
09-29-2011, 10:46 PM
Well I am in between jobs right now, I am looking for my first pistol although I am young (16) and have much to learn I am not a complete newbie with guns. Although I have been shooting rifles and shotguns since about 7.
My father got a CZ75b a couple months back and we have been goin to the range every other week we go through about 100 rounds a person.
I am not of age and won't be for awhile Ive been reading about it and I think .357 is the best choice for me ATM.
I don't really know much more than I want besides .357 revolver with less than 2.5in barrel and no hammer.
I would like to train now my parents are fine with it I just have to buy it myself ammo included. I don't get to have guns in my room although I make ammo in my room.

MtGun44
09-30-2011, 01:07 AM
With the short bbl, you'll probably be happier with .38 Spl loads in a 2-2.5" revolver. Also, the
new ultra light versions are real handfulls with full power 158 gr +P .38 Spl, so much that I
would decline to shoot a full power .357 in one. Note that I have and shoot a .44 Mag
S&W 329 which is a really nasty handful with full power loads, but I expect the .357 in the
ultralight revo would be worse.

The muzzle blast and flash of the .357 mag would add to the mayhem. Nasty little guns,
short bbl .357 mags. Also consider that for CCW, you will likely be shooting without hearing
protection if it ever goes pear shaped. Permanent hearing damage is likely with hot mag loads in
one of the snubbies.

I would start with shooting a med frame .38 special a lot, so when you get old enough the snubbie
version (Smith J-frames are most commonly found) will be like an old friend, just a bit smaller.

A S&W Model 10 is a great tool that will teach you to be a crack shot for as little money as
is possible these days if you cast and load your own and stick to the 3 gr of Bulleye or 3 gr