PDA

View Full Version : Ready to try swaging

khamill2000
09-26-2011, 09:16 AM
I have made the decision to try my hand at swaging. I want to make the 224 bullets from rimfire jackets and cast lead. I have a RCBS JR3 press that I plan to use for this and am looking at purchasing this die set.

http://www.swagedies.com/mm5/merchant.mvc?Screen=PROD&Store_Code=CBST&Product_Code=KIT-224R&Category_Code=RDIES

Would like your opinions on my plans since I am a noob. Thanks in advance.

DukeInFlorida
09-26-2011, 11:17 AM
I would suggest that you CALL Corbin, and confirm that they actually have this set in stock BEFORE purchasing. Otherwise, you'll be unhappy with the longggggggggggggg wait for them to ship.

MIBULLETS
09-26-2011, 07:23 PM
That set will make good bullets. I used to own one before I upgraded to Corbin's S Press and dies.

Utah Shooter
09-26-2011, 07:33 PM
Yeah I would call and those are what I use as well. Very nice projectiles.

Grandpas50AE
09-29-2011, 09:16 AM
That kit will make very nice bullets, it was what I started with several years ago if you add the core swage die to it. The core swage die uniforms the cores, and is essential in my opinion if you want consistent bullets. Since then, I have upgraded to the MegaMite press and H series dies, but the bullets are not any better than the ones I made on the reloading press. I think you will be very happy with that kit.

MIBULLETS
09-29-2011, 05:29 PM
I second Grandpas50AEs recomendation of a core swage die!

Utah Shooter
09-30-2011, 12:01 AM
I have a buddy that can make one of those for you if you would like.

khamill2000
10-10-2011, 03:11 PM
Ordered the dies last week. Some how got mixed up and only got the jacket maker kit ordered, not the bullet maker kit. Dave Corbin just called me and is sending out the rest today and hopefully I will be making bullets this weekend.

BTW- It's nice to talk with the actual man in charge

Utah Shooter
10-10-2011, 07:15 PM