PDA

View Full Version : Sizing die and top punch needed

whitewolf68
09-23-2011, 10:50 PM
Please forgive be but I am a noob to casting and so far having fun doing it. I am just getting ready to size and lube the boolits I've made thus far but I need the sizing die and top punch, only problem is I've no idea what number punch.

I've been using a Lee mold # 90303 158gn SWC and have a lyman sizer.

They have also come out slightly on the heavy side as well @ about 162gn. Should I scrap them and start over?

Any help is greatly appreciated.

09-24-2011, 10:43 AM
Go over to the Castpics site (link at bottom of page), they have a top punch cross-reference chart. Don't expect an exact fit, though, with rings left on the nose as the result.

The best remedy is to use JB Weld to either make a flat punch or an impression of the boolit. I cast that boolit and made a flat punch. Now, it's used for different boolits in different calibres. A site search will provide much information.

Don't worry about the weight.

theperfessor
09-24-2011, 11:15 AM
Not to be overly commercial but I can sell you a Lyman/RCBS compatible flat nose punch for $8 and a cup nose punch designed to be filled with JB Weld to make a conformal nose for $8.50. They have an O-ring on the shank that holds them in the ram without needing to use the setscrew in the ram. Price includes shipping in the USA and I have 1-3 day service. Email address is in sig line below.

09-24-2011, 12:04 PM
Apologies, Keith, I keep forgetting about your excellent top punches. Either I'm getting older or I have too much information to remember, one.

Anyway, you produce a quality product at a very reasonable price.

fishnbob
09-24-2011, 12:33 PM