PDA

View Full Version : Does Lube affect accuracy?

aussie460mag
09-22-2011, 09:10 PM
Has anyone found they could get better accuracy from just changing the lube they use?

btroj
09-22-2011, 09:21 PM
Absolutely. The key is fitting the lube to the application. I am not a lube expert but do know that viscosity plays a role.
Temperature makes a big difference too. I have found that some lubes need a few shots to warm the barrel to warm the barrel when the tmp falls below 40.

The real key is finding a lube that works in the majority of the loads you will shoot. I don't shoot over 2000 often at all so high velocity isn't an issue while others are more concerned with speed. This means we may need different lubes.

geargnasher
09-22-2011, 09:52 PM
Yes. So does the number of grooves lubed.

Gear

btroj
09-22-2011, 10:25 PM
Truth be told- is there anything related to cast bullets in general that doesn't have an impact on accuracy?

Crusty Deary Ol'Coot
09-22-2011, 11:58 PM
During a frozen ammo test a few days back, I wondered what would happen with the lube and possible leading.

There was no indication after 10 frozen rounds fired, of any lubing problems, barrel was it's normal bright and shinny self..

The group it self was just slightly larger then the non-frozen ammo shot some minutes later, and the velocity averaged 35fps less then the non-frozen.

The 465gr Gas Checked boolits used in the test were from a Babore mold, lubed with a sample supplied by Bruce.

Keep em coming!

Crusty Deary Ol'Coot

stubshaft
09-23-2011, 03:01 AM
Yup, some lubes that have too much lubricity can cause vertical stringing.

RobS
09-23-2011, 09:28 AM
Lube that comes out of the lube grooves unevenly during flight will also give some ugly groups. I switched to a homemade lube that is soft and will come out of the lube grooves at the muzzle.

williamwaco
09-23-2011, 09:39 AM
Yes. So does the number of grooves lubed.

Gear

+1.

'Nuff said.

badgeredd
09-23-2011, 10:22 AM
Short answer.....YES