PDA

View Full Version : Big Blast, Bullet Stuck in the Barrel

Silver Jack Hammer
09-22-2011, 12:08 AM
My load was missing a powder charge, just a primer and the Ruger SBH just went "pop" instead of the blast 22 gr of 2400 would launch a 240 gr semi jacketed bullet. I waited the 10 seconds for a possible hang fire which did not come, and cocked back the hammer for another shot. You know what? That primer drove that jacketed bullet into the barrel! The next shot was like a double recoil! Heaven watches out over fools and kids. It was 1978 and I was a college student and didn't have 2 dimes to rub together. I don't know how that SBH held together. There was not the slightest bulge of the barrel, I slugged the bore and mic'ed the outside. I was using the Lee loader in my college dorm room. I had a coffee can full of wheelweights but had not casted yet.

tek4260
09-22-2011, 07:27 AM
I always heard it said as "God watches over fools and drunks" since neither ever seem to get hurt when you would think they would.

Bet if you ever get another "pop" you'll be snatching the cylinder and checking things before proceeding :)

btroj
09-22-2011, 08:52 AM
Never, ever, shoot another round before checking the barrel if you get just a pop or a "strange" sounding load. This is something that should be part of reloading 101.

You are very fortunate to not have a ring in the barrel or a potentially more seriously damaged gun. Or a damaged YOU.

44man
09-22-2011, 09:01 AM
Primers have a lot of force and anytime something sounds or feels off, STOP and unload, then inspect the bore.
Another thing to never do is mix ammo. I learned the hard way long ago. Someone gave me a bunch of factory .38 Specials, I also had my .357 loads so I filled my pockets with both just to have some plinking fun. The difference in noise and recoil will mask a problem. I had one of the .38's stick at the muzzle and the next shot split the bottom of the muzzle.