PDA

View Full Version : Newbie to casting, reporting!

Skrenos
01-31-2007, 02:14 AM
I'm new to all this bullet casting thing. I've been lurking for a few weeks and casting has really grabbed my interest.

I've tried using lead bullets with bad results. I used Hornady 200gr semi-wadcutters in a Taurus 455 45acp revolver and in a .45acp EAA Witness with lots of leading. I was running them mild with some tiregroup which should have given me velocities around 800fps. Lots of leading within 50 rounds. Of course, they only has some kind of powdering wax on them, no real lube grooves to speak of, but hopefully, casting my own bullets wont turn out so badly.

Why the sudden interest in casting? Uncertainty in the world, and I just like making things I can show off. The bad part is that I cant find lead around here. you'd figuer it'd be easy since I live in Missouri. Hell, our state mineral is lead sulfide! I did find a recycling center some 30 miles away. they want $0.30/lb for wheel weights or pure lead (pipe, flashing, etc). Lots of you are going to say that's expensive, but some is better than nothing. The good news is that they buy aluminum for $0.65/lb and I have plenty of that to trade in. Lots of soda cans, lawnmower blocks/heads, alloy wheels, pistons, and car cylinder heads. Probably have some water pumps in there too. I'll never get the stash some of you guys have, but it's a start.

I'm planning on smelting the WW with stuff I found at a local antique store. Found a cast iron breadstick mold and a small 8" frying pan. Combined with one of those electric hot plates from walmart (1000watts), I think it'll get me get a small stash started.

JeffinNZ
01-31-2007, 04:38 AM
OOOHHHHH you're on the slippery slope now. Once you start casting it's all down hill. :-D :drinks:

I think you will really enjoy the results and funny you will have. Good luck and read EVERYTHING you can find.

Buckshot
01-31-2007, 05:10 AM