PDA

View Full Version : Boolit casting baby

dustlane
09-09-2011, 01:17 AM
Well, guys, I am new to the forum and pretty darned new to reloading. I have only been reloading for a couple of months. But that is long enough to realize that I need to lean to cast my own bullets. There is no place around here to buy reloading bullets so I have to order them. That gets pricey. So I figure that while I am am learning to reload, I might as well learn to cast my own bullets at the same time. I am a disabled vet and can't work so I have plenty of time on my hands. This is where you guys come into play. I have no idea where to start or what equipment to buy. I wish there were some sort of "kit" that I could buy that has everything I need to cast my own bullets for my .380, 9mm, and .40 S&W. My cousin owns a plumbing company so I can get let for nearly nothing but, from what I have read on this site, I can't use just any old lead. I have alot to learn but I have no idea where to start. Anybody know where I can get a casting course for dummies?

Suo Gan
09-09-2011, 01:43 AM
Holy smokes that is one big bass!

Thank you for your sacrifice! You can sure use the lead pipe. Pay attention to where they soldered the pipes together because that will be tin. If I were you I would buy a few hundred pounds of wheel weight lead from a member here and mix it 50/50 with the pure add some of your tin to get it to flow. This is as easy or as hard as you want it to be. Some people naturally want to take this hobby down the path of high science. The average Joe does not need to go there. The difference between the very best cast boolit shooters and one that has a pretty good handle on it is very, very small.

What I would do is start small and use this site as a reference as you go. Type your question in the search box and you will get a pile of info. For example "30-30 boolit" or "casting technique", or "lube for 30-30", or "Micro Groove boolits" etc.