PDA

View Full Version : My 1st Military Rifle (Mosin Nagant)

birdadly
09-03-2011, 12:43 AM
Hi everyone. I see there's only 2 pages in this Military section, so I'm not going to feel bad starting a thread just talk about myself and ask a few questions :)

So I'm new to rifles (have literally shot only 25 rifle rounds) and just picked up a 1933 Mosin Nagant 91/30 for a cheap birthday present for myself last weekend. I shot it tonight and was very happy with how I, and it, did! So I thought I'd share :)

I bought a box of S&B so I can start saving brass to reload with. I was worried on the first shot that the thing would blow up, but it didn't! After 6 shots my shoulder was SORE! I admit, I'm sensitive and bruise easily! I had to find a make-shift recoil pad quick, so my girlfriend (Keri) snagged a towel from the trunk.

This target is my first 10 shots, and my 11th shot was hitting the two water bottles in the other picture. Apparently Keri is AWESOME with the camera as the one shot I took at bottles (1 behind the other), she captured mid-awesomeness (1 bottle going top-left, other bottom right)! After that, we took more pics and headed out.

Questions? Hmm.
1. My bolt is quite loose and very smooth with no bullet in the chamber, but once I chamber a round, it easily went forward but I had some troubles putting it fully in the down position. Maybe I'm baby-ing it?

2. These were 180gr store-bought bullets. If I start casting for this, will I be able to bring the felt recoil down some? Maybe a lighter boolit and/or less powder?

3. I read through the "Candy Store" thread and really felt like my collection could start growing, now that I've shot this rifle and loved it! Can I find other surplus rifles around this price-point now-a-days? That being around $100?

That's it for now, thanks for your time and I hope the pics are entertaining for you! -Brad

Gtek
09-03-2011, 01:13 AM