PDA

View Full Version : Problem seating .22 gc

Mohavedog
09-02-2011, 07:57 PM
Hello,
I'm asking to find out if anyone is aware of a problem with the Saeco #221 mould in the gc area. My checked boolits are coming out of the Lee push through .225 sizer concave on the base. The problem near as I can determine is that the Gator checks measure .043 inside cup depth and the relief on the boolit base is only .035 high. The gc crimps on the base before the gc is flush with the base, then the ram pushes the center of the gc flush. This leaves the gc concave. Everything else is ok and the checks are crimped tight and seemingly square. I'm concerned this will cause accuracy issues. The checks are annealed. Do Lyman or Hornady .22 checks have shallower cups?
I appreciate any info or advice anyone can share. This is my first attempt at working with .22 slugs. Thanks, Mohavedog

JIMinPHX
09-03-2011, 03:39 PM
A Hornady .22 cal gas check measures about .210" on the ID & .041" high inside, just for reference.

I don't know that mold in particular, but it sounds to me like your mold is throwing a boolit with a short GC shank. Is it possible that someone in the past may have fly cut the top of the blocks to remove scrapes? Do your boolits come out at the expected weight?

Do the concave boolits shoot well? I've never tried them like that before.

Mohavedog
09-03-2011, 04:22 PM
Thanks for response JIMinPHX. I bought the mould used from a board member here and nothing was said about any machining. I kinda doubt it as the machining pattern looks identical to the bottom of the mould. The mould is supposed to throw a boolit of 60 gr and mine weigh 58.2 w/out gc and 59.6 w/coppper gc. My mix is ww/lino and small amount of tin for bhn of 17.2 as my Lee hardness tester tells me. They look beautiful except for that short gc relief. I would guess if cast from straight ww they would weigh close to the 60 gr.