PDA

View Full Version : Truncated cone point rifle bullet

JudgeBAC
01-25-2007, 10:55 AM
Does anyone have any experience hunting medium size game with cast truncated cone point rifle bullets? Is this an acceptable design for hunting purposes? I have read some reports that this bullet in handguns is an acceptable stopper for self defense but I have no experience hunting with this bullet.

Four Fingers of Death
01-27-2007, 07:18 PM
Do you mean flap pointed truncated cone boolits or pointy ones?

JudgeBAC
01-28-2007, 08:31 PM
The bullet is a Saeco .270 140 gr. Truncated Cone Gas Check.

Beerd
02-05-2007, 03:54 PM
Like the one in the middle?

Bass Ackward
02-05-2007, 05:52 PM
Judge,

If you are talking handgun truns, then you probably have enough meplat to get somethings attention. Truns were really designs to cut nose weight thus either allowing lighter bullets per caliber or longer bearing areas in the same weights while improving ballistic coefficient.

If you are talking rifle and the 270, then I would prefer another design myself. Not sure exactly what's available for a 270 any more. Another option, you can use a file on it for those few you would need for hunting.

I have shot exactly one deer with a 160 spitzer in 30-06 at 2600 fps. I was not pleased with the result, to answer your question.

JudgeBAC
02-05-2007, 07:34 PM
Beerd: Yes it is exactly like the one in the middle.

Bass: I was afraid that would be the problem. I thought about asking Buckshot to make a flat point mould out of this if possible. None of the .270 moulds I have seen seem to be designed for hunting. It looks like they are all target bullets. Anyway, what do you think about applying some Buckshot magic?

Bass Ackward
02-05-2007, 08:04 PM
Beerd: Yes it is exactly like the one in the middle.