PDA

View Full Version : REAL bullet loads?

frontier gander
08-28-2011, 11:23 AM
I just got the 320gr Lee REAL mold in yesterday and so i started shooting some to get an idea what they like. It seems that my gun will only shoot them on a hot barrel. Let it cool down and its not even close to being on paper at 50 yards.

What are some loads you guys are shooting? I was shooting loads of 80 and 90gr blackhorn209 with wads between the bullet/powder charge.

mooman76
08-28-2011, 12:28 PM
What caliber we talking about, 50? For 50 I usually shot between 50 and 60 BP or Pyrodex just for paper punching. About 70 if I want to move it back to 100y but I usually shoot at about 50y.

frontier gander
08-28-2011, 01:42 PM
yeah .50cal inline with 1:28 twist. I'll give 70gr BH209 a try later this evening and see how it goes. Im just looking for a fun bullet to cast and paper punch with. Maybe hunt with if i can find an accurate load.

10 ga
08-28-2011, 03:21 PM
Lose the blackhorn for REAL boolits. Get some real BP or at least some 777 or Pyro. Blackhorn is more of a "burn" type powder and you should use a powder that comes closer to "conflagerates"(explodes) like real BP. Loading shouldnt be an issue as the REAL boolits scrape the barrel with every loading. Of course using a base wad and a hard "grease cookie" and proper lubeing helps with the BP too. I've used REALs and BP often but not with the Blackhorn. I'd also drop down and start with about 55 gr. powder and shoot groups and move up in 5 gr. incriments. Even if you're huntin elk and stuff that 320 has plenty of punch with even moderate loads. Cold barrel is where it's at, first shot, best shot. Hard to keep that barrel "hot" when you're huntin. My $.02 worth, excuse me with Obama-recess-stag-in-flation it's $.21 worth. Best, 10 ga

frontier gander
08-28-2011, 03:48 PM
i have some american pioneer i have on hand that i plan on trying but i'd much prefer to use BH209.

frontier gander
08-29-2011, 12:36 PM