PDA

View Full Version : Anyone shoot cast in a 9mm German Luger?

mtgrs737
08-25-2011, 10:24 PM
I have an itch for a 9mm German Luger pistol. Being a cast boolit shooter I would want to shoot cast in it like I do most everything else. Is there any reason why cast should not be shot in a luger with a like new bore?

Thanks in advance!

mtgrs737

Le Loup Solitaire
08-25-2011, 11:02 PM
I have been shooting cast in an S/42 DWM Luger for many years. I've used both the RCBS conical nose- a truncated cone design and the Lyman# 356242- a round nose. Both are in the 115-125 grain range. After trying numerous powders, many of which worked well, I finally settled on 4.7-4.8 grains of IMR 4756 as it pretty much filled the case and gave a good loading density. This precluded any chance of a double charge and also prevented any telescoping of the bullet into the case. It also gave lower pressure. The seating depth in the 9mm is critical and any increase quickly changes the pressure, and that can be bad. Original Lugers and their parts all live in the high rent district so treat them well. The above loading is accurate, burns clean and does not lead. Most important is that it does not batter the gun. Both bullets feed flawlessly and will group consistently in the 8 ring or better at 25 yards. Ejection is good-straight up (and sometimes down the shirt collar). I have striven to keep MV in the 900's; of course one can use Red Dot, Unique, Bullseye and several other powders, but they are faster and hotter than the 4756. WW alloy is sufficient for the casts; no need to quench to obtain harder bullets. The RCBS CN cuts clean holes in the target while the Lyman RN cuts raggedy ones. The Luger sights are not the best for bullseye work and the trigger pull is pretty awful, but you get used to that with practice. Other cast bullet designs can work ok, but the essential shape is basically a round nose or a conical one. A semiwadcutter might work, but I have never tried one. So to sum up, c