PDA

View Full Version : 22 auto pistol

krag35
08-22-2011, 10:59 AM
My Bride has taken a shine to my MKII standard model, so I am in the market for a new pistol for me.

This pistol will be used for plinking and maybe some hunting.

I have narrowed my choices down to either the Browning buckmark Micro, or the Ruger 22/45 4" slabside bbl.

I have some limited experience with the Buckmarks, all good, but it was years ago and with a long bull bbled one.

I have owned several Ruger rimfire autos, and all were very reliable and accurate. The only downside to them, is the reassembly.

Looking for reveiws, and comments on both.

TIA
Krag35

sleeper78
08-22-2011, 11:10 AM
I have a MKII 22/42 with the 5.5 inch heavy barrel. I absolutely love it. It was the first pistol I ever bought and I still have and shoot it. I've put untold thousands of rounds through it and I've only had one problem with it. The firing pin rebound spring broke on it once. I ordered a new one plus some spares and it was back in working order in no time.
I consistently shoot 6-7 inch groups with it with a standing 2 handed grip at 25yds. I've practiced for bulls eye matches with it and with lots of concentration I've managed 3-4 inch groups at 25 yards at an indoor range with subsonic match ammo using the one handed bulls eye stance.
I have nothing bad to say about this pistol. I love this pistol!

9.3X62AL
08-23-2011, 12:12 AM
The re-assembly sequence for the Ruger 22 LR pistols are their ONLY down-side. In terms of gun received per dollar spent, the Ruger is hands-down the best buy a-going. Gotta spend a LOT more money to receive only micro-better accuracy and reliability.

If you can scare up a SIG Trailside pistol, these shot very well for me. They are still in production by their generic maker Hammerli, marketed as the Hammerli "X-Esse". Get your wallet prepped, MSRP runs 700-750 bones.

HeavyMetal
08-23-2011, 03:04 AM
Another plug for the Ruger 22 pistol!