PDA

View Full Version : Slugging the barrel of a Rossi 92

Mauser Rat
08-22-2011, 10:33 AM
I have slugged bolt action rifle bores and revolver and semi auto pistols but I don't have a clue how to get a chamber/throat slug of a levergun. I have never done a chamber casting and I guess I could try doing that but I just wondered if I was missing the boat somehow?

So, I tried doing a search with no luck looking for old threads about this. I was wondering if any of you know of an old thread or something at l.a.s.c. on slugging the chamber/throat and bore of a levergun?

NickSS
08-22-2011, 05:37 PM
To slug the thought you have to pull the bolt of the rifle and on a 92 that is a bit of work. You could use cerosafe from Brownells to get a chamber cast and probably get the measurements off of that without pulling the bolt.

Char-Gar
08-22-2011, 06:05 PM
Why do you want to slug the chamber throat? Do you have a problem of some kind?

I have been doing this cast bullet thingie for many years and have yet to slug a throat. There are other ways of determining what diameter of bullet your rifles needs. A Rossi 92 is not a precision rifle. Just size you bullets .002 over groove diameter and have at it.

Unless of course you are having some kind of problem and are trying to hunt down it's origin.

Mauser Rat
08-23-2011, 01:23 AM
NickSS,

Yes, It looks like a huge amount of work to me. Thanks for the information.

Chargar,