PDA

View Full Version : fire for smelting

dale.l
08-16-2011, 10:29 PM
I have a big cast iron pot hanging on a tripod in my yard with flowers in it. Im just getting started I seen it and thought it would work good for smelting what are the cons for using wood I won't be able to control the temp but is it that important
I have about 400# of shot so I know theres no zinc.

Dan Cash
08-16-2011, 11:29 PM
Wood, partidularly hard wood will make a fine melting fire. Temperature control is achieved by raising or lowering the pot over the fire and/or judicious stoking of the fire.

DrB
08-16-2011, 11:41 PM
OK, this is something I've REALLY wanted to play with, but haven't the room in the yard that my wife would tolerate my excavation of.

Dig a "Dakota Hole." Google it. Basically, it's comprised of a 2.5-3 ft deep large post hole, with a same depth smaller hole adjacent to it and a cross tunnel in between connecting the bottom of each hole.

You light the fire in the big hole, hot air goes up and out of the big hole, cold air falls down the narrow shaft, and the fire is naturally blown. If you want to supercharge things with a squirrel blower once it really gets lit, thats up to you (and totally unnecessary but fun). :)

I built one of these years and years ago when I was a camp counselor for outpost staff on a scout reservation. We smelted lead to cast lead bullets, etc. It makes a hot fire, lights well, and once going will eat just about anything you feed it even if a little damp/green. The heat is also nicely channelled by the baked clay walls and columnar convection.

Anyway, good luck!

Best regards,
DrB

JIMinPHX
08-17-2011, 01:33 AM