PDA

View Full Version : % Yield from wheel weights

SeabeeMan
08-12-2011, 02:15 PM
I'm new to bullet casting and went on a rampage finding wheel weights over the last few weeks. I'm in the middle of nowhere in Northern WI, so most of the tire shops around here are small ones that were happy to just have me get them out of the way. I was able to find 700 lbs of wheel weights from the various places and in the end it has cost me $60 and a dozen Kwik Trip doughnuts.

I've smelted 550lbs of the weights so far (I'm done for now, they are going in covered buckets in my storage shed for a while) and got 450 lbs of clean ingots. That is roughly 82% yield after removing all the trash, iron, zinc, and clips. At that rate it works out to about 10 cents per pound of ready to cast WW alloy.

geargnasher
08-12-2011, 02:39 PM
Once I get the non-lead weights and junk out, I usually get about 80% yield of the clip-ons.

Tell me you took measures to prevent melting in any zink weights, and that you separated any self-adhesive weights ("stick-ons" or "tape weights" as they are called here)??

Sounds like a great haul, most of us can beg, bribe, coerce, threaten, charm or lie for a year and not come up with that much!

Gear

slide
08-12-2011, 02:40 PM
You are a very lucky man. Around my area you might be able to get a few pounds from the tire shops. Can't even get them to turn loose for a 30 pack. Better get all you can while you can. You won't have any trouble selling any excess you have.

alamogunr
08-12-2011, 02:58 PM
I usually weighed the buckets before I sorted out the non-lead weights and stick-ons. I usually got about 75-80% yield from that. Once I lucked on to a bucket of mostly truck weights and most of those were mostly new(bad clips-had a habit of coming off at speed) that I got almost 90% yield.