PDA

View Full Version : Practicing thread cutting

DCP
08-06-2011, 07:49 PM
So I cut my 1st Threads on my Logan today.

I was really proud of myself and everything went well.

I used a S&W flash hider that was 1/2 28 for a gage.

I Threaded until it went on easy. [smilie=1:

Then :violin: I took it out of the lathe.

I took out my fake 22 silencer for my gs5 22lr and it only goes in 1 thread. :groner:

So guess I should have taken at least 1 more pass.

So what to do now? (I want to use this as a gage)

It would very hard to put it back in the lathe. [smilie=b:
Should I get a 1/2-28 die and just chase the threads?
or
Just leave it alone and mark it oversize?

Any help will be appreciated.

drhall762
08-06-2011, 09:19 PM
Okay, good lesson learned. It sounds to me as you are starting as I did and that is self taught. First question is: What angle was your compound set at? Should have been 28 degrees. If so, you can put the barrel back in the lathe and pick up the threads where you left off and cut them deeper. Also, you can chase the threads. If you use an adjustable die you will get a tighter fit than if you use a Sears & Roebuck special which is intended to chase class 2 or even 3 threads. I spent several years teaching machining in the local community college. If I can help, let me know I still have a lot of student handouts on my hard drive.

MtGun44
08-06-2011, 10:34 PM
Dr. Hall - I have a mill and a lathe and have been learning to use them. If you have some
good handouts that are "stand alone" - i.e. don't depend on the normal accompanying lecture to
make sense, I'd love to have them to study.

Thanks!

Bill

Bret4207
08-07-2011, 09:13 AM
A die would certainly be simpler, but picking the thread up isn't that hard. It's a trade off- learn to pick up the thread (with the resultant hair pulling, swearing, stomping and throwing of things till you get it right) or buying a die you might only use once. Your choice.