PDA

View Full Version : BHN for hunting boolits?

got_lead?
07-29-2011, 11:12 PM
What would be an appropriate hardness for .30 cal hunting boolits? I am just starting out with cast boolit loading for bottleneck cartridges, and can use all the help I can get.

I was going to start with some 170 grain loads with my Marlin 336 30-30. I just cast up some WW+5% Sn Lee 170 grain FP's and water quenched them. I haven't measured the diameter yet, hopefully they will measure at .310 or .311

I imagine I will want to develop a couple of loads for the 30-30, a light non gas checked load for cheap shooting, and perhaps a hotter GC'd load for hunting.

I have a couple of old Lyman books on cast boolits, in those books, most of the rifle cartridges are loaded with reduced loads of pistol powders. I gather cast boolit knowledge has increased a bit since the 1960's? Up to this point I have only loaded cast with straight walled cases. Bottleneck rifle loads are new terratory for me.

Would anyone care to share their wisdom on loads?

Thanks

Dave

Marine Sgt 2111
07-30-2011, 02:54 AM
WW-AC w/ 2% tin at the hardest or better yet 50/50 WW and pure PB w/2% tin. Once you make the bullets, then develope the load. .30-30 is a great cast bullet cartridge in all three catagories: accuracy, load pressure and velocity. A nice soft lead bullet at 1800 or 2000 fps that begins to mushroom on impact is far better than a non expanding bullet going 2200fps that rifles through. That is unless you use a .45-70...then your shooting a pre-expanded .30 cal anyways...

Baron von Trollwhack
07-30-2011, 06:06 AM
Do not stress over bullet hardness/expansion questions. A double lung shot, spine, kidney, heart, neck,head shot will put them all down with or without expansion and leave a trail too. With the 30-30 shot placement is the key. BvT

btroj
07-30-2011, 07:11 AM