PDA

View Full Version : Lee 6 cavity mould quality

Sundogg1911
01-15-2007, 11:34 AM
I've been casting for about 10 years now. I started out with a 2 cavity Lee mould for .45 ACP. It cast a nice boolit, but I had a lot of problems with the pins coming out of the handles, sprue plate coming loose, etc. :roll: All of the moulds that I have aquired since then have been, Lyman, RCBS, and Hensley and Gibbs. (Which have all worked well) the problem is that it's very slow, except with the 4 cavitys. I do cast usually using 3 moulds at a time, and I was considering casting with multiple moulds that are the same. I like the fact that Lee has the 6 bangers fairly cheap, and since i'm switching to a Star sizer, there will be no top punch issue, that I ran into with the Lyman 450 that I currently use. Is the quality better on the 6 cavitys than on the doubles? The Lee mould that I had was bought new over 10 years ago so maybe it was an issue then and not now. I'd really like to start ramping up speed casting 40 S&W's and some 9mm's thanks. :Fire:

Cloudpeak
01-15-2007, 03:37 PM
I've had good luck with the Lee 6 cavity molds, one in 40 cal and two in 45. I have no experience with other Lee molds but do have experience with a Lyman 44 cal. mold. The Lyman is pretty bullet proof. No danger of gouging the top surface of the mold when cutting sprue. The aluminum Lee molds will do some gouging if the sprue is cut too quickly. Bullplates "Sprue Plate Lube" seems to solve this problem in my limited experience of using it.

Even if the Lee gets a little ratty looking, it still seems to cast pretty good bullets. For what they cost, after a couple of thousand bullets, the mold has pretty well paid for itself. I've considered buying a H&G 68 design Lyman 4 cavity mold but have put it off because of the cost and the fact that the bullets out of my Lee 6 cavity seem to be working well.

I also relly like the Lee push through sizing dies and the Lee Liquid Alox lube.

Cloudpeak

357maximum