PDA

View Full Version : Red dot sights.......first exposure

3006guns
07-29-2011, 07:26 AM
I took my nephew to the range yesterday so he could try out his AR, newly equipped with an Aimpoint scope. Within a few shots he had it zeroed perfectly and shot groups that were eye openers for me. When he asked if I'd like to try it I jumped at the chance....

I've been collecting military rifles for over forty years and in all that time I've been using the issue sights "like a man". This was my first exposure to new technology and I was impressed, especially considering the irons could be used right through the scope if need be. The red dot is adjustable in intensity (size) for light conditions and makes accurate shooting child's play. Just put the little dot where you want the bullet to go! Unbelievable.

Now, if I can just figure a way to duct tape one to a Mosin Nagant or Mauser...well, o.k., maybe not duct tape....but it seems the term "eye relief" isn't part of the equation with one of these. If that's true, wouldn't it be possible to mount one of these in place of the standard rear sight? Hmmm....

Another old dog learning new tricks.

bcp477
07-31-2011, 04:22 PM