PDA

View Full Version : What size ladle for smelting / ingots?

Oreo
07-26-2011, 11:04 PM
Full disclosure: I'm a newb to casting.

I'm in the market for a bottom-pour ladle for smelting & casting ingots. I'm wondering if there are any disadvantages to going with the Rowell #5 instead of the #4. The #4 is a 4" diameter bowl & has a 4.5lb capacity. The #5 has a 5" diameter bowl & a 9lb capacity.

I'm thinking the larger size will make the ingot casting process more efficient but it may be harder to scoop lead from the pot as the level gets low. Not sure how much better it would be with the #4 though. Figured you guys would know.

Thanks!

rollmyown
07-26-2011, 11:46 PM
I am thinking either a #3 or a #4

9lbs seems like alot of lead. 4 to 4 1/2 should be much more managable. That said I'm not speaking from experience, as I don't use a Rowell ladle. Mine is an antique and I would guess it is in the 4 - 5lb capacity range

I guess it somewhat depends on how many ingots you want to cast in a session, and how big they are.

GabbyM
07-26-2011, 11:49 PM
I just use a stainless steal soup ladle. Made in USA. Just be careful you get one with a securely attached handle that won’t fall apart aka made in China.

snuffy
07-31-2011, 12:26 PM
Here's a couple of pics of the Rowell #3 and #4 ladles being used while smelting range lead;

#3.

http://photos.imageevent.com/jptowns/arrow/websize/P4110013.JPG

http://photos.imageevent.com/jptowns/arrow/websize/P4110019.JPG
http://photos.imageevent.com/jptowns/arrow/websize/P4110018.JPG

As you can see, the #3 is a one handed operation. Holds about 3.5# of alloy. The #4, if full, 4.5#, is a two handed affair. It has a sliding handle on it so it stays cool, but some good gloves are needed.

mold maker
07-31-2011, 02:24 PM