PDA

View Full Version : Wadcutter limitations

PacMan
07-25-2011, 06:20 AM
I have just started working with a OWC bullet and it is ahooting good but have only shot it to 25 yards. Having never shot WC before now ,shame on me, i have heard and read that they start loosing accuracy after 50 or so yards.

My question is why?
Is it because they become unstabe once they fall below a certian velocity? If so is there a reason that they cannot be driven faster or by design they are not accurate past a certian velocity.

I have read post by a member here , dont remember his handle, that he shoots WCs accuratley out to much longer distances.Wish i had paid more attention.
Any advice or input will be appericated.
Thanks
Dwight

Whistler
07-25-2011, 07:00 AM
I'm not an expert in ballistics, but here's a brief explaination.

The nose shape in a bullet is not important when travelling in velocities below the speed of sound (~1100fps) , hence you can use a bullet with a totally flat front, making you able to seat more of the bullet inside of the case, thus reducing case volume getting more consistent ignition leading to better accuracy with very light loads of fast powders. Also, the wadcutter design in it self is based on having a lot of driving surface along the entire length of the bullet, making it easier to stabilize at low velocities, thus making lighter loads with minimum recoil possible. The hollowbase designs allow for an even longer bullet at the same weight, making it possible to reduce the load even further with maintained stability.

Should you begin to push the wadcutter too fast it will certainly keyhole. One of the most common issues is that for wadcutters it is always recommended to use soft lead, almost pure, because of the low velocities and pressures in target loads. When pushing the WC faster, you would of course need a harder alloy, something which most people seem to forget and stare blind at the flat nose of the bullet design.