PDA

View Full Version : Difference in barrel length

mustanggt
07-09-2011, 12:47 AM
I have both a 74 and 75 Sharps. 75 has a 28" #1 heavy and the 74 has a 30" #1 heavy. The difference is about 2 lbs. I have shot the 74 alot more because it's purttier :D but all I've done with the plainer 75 is break the barrel in. So I've not had a chance to shoot black in it till today. 2" and 2 lbs make a huge difference in recoil. I didn't think it would be that noticeable. After about 30 rounds through the 75 I was ready to be done. I was trying out the new Money bullet (excellent accuracy, I'm impressed) but wanted to try it in the 74. Well I thought I'll shoot 5 and call it good. I started shooting it and that is when it really hit home about barell length vs. recoil. It didn't bother my shoulder too much after that. No wonder the cavalry went with 55grs and a 405gr boolit in their trapdoors.

bigted
07-09-2011, 08:21 AM
when laying the rifles on top of each other so the barrels are in alignment...is there a difference in the drop of the but-stock? how about the length of pull?

i experience this same thing with my shooters... ruger #1...browning bpcr...pederosoli 74 sharps...Winchester hunter's special.......all in 45-70 and the felt recoil is different in all these rifles. the length of pull is different on them all as is the drop of the comb in the butstock.

i had a browning hunter that had the chamber lengthened to 45-120 and the felt recoil at first was pretty stout..[an 8 lbs rifle with the curved buttplate]...then i installed a tie on recoil pad which lengthened the pull by around 1.5 inch and of course the pad as well but made it quiet tolerable to shoot.

just wondering if you have run into the same situation?

montana_charlie
07-09-2011, 12:21 PM
it really hit home about barell length vs. recoil.

I bet the difference in recoil is more a result of the extra two pounds ... not how much barrel the bullet must pass through.