PDA

View Full Version : LEE FCD ring removal

Gswain
07-07-2011, 12:52 PM
I have been trying and trying to find a definative answer on how to do this. Found a video on youtube of how someone removed a .44 FCD sizing ring, but just showed the steps leading up to it, and not the removal of the ring itself. I tried using a 38 SPL case to remove the ring on my 38 FCD, beat the tar out of the thing but the ring didn't budge, just bent up the web of the case. Anyone have personal experience with removing this? Think the next thing im gonna try is a bigger hammer. I'd rather fix it myself than buy a bunch of stuff to mickey mouse around it. :popcorn:

Doby45
07-07-2011, 01:38 PM
Find you a deep well socket that just fits in from the top, then pound on that socket.

JonB_in_Glencoe
07-07-2011, 04:54 PM
I'm no expert...and I've never tried it.

BUT, I recall reading somewhere that the carbide is real brittle
and to just use a center punch and hammer on the inside to crack/shatter
the carbide ring, then just remove the peices.

let us know how it turns out,
Jon

Jim
07-07-2011, 05:09 PM
I have tried it. I ruined the die. Them rings don't give up so easy.

KYCaster
07-07-2011, 05:11 PM
I can't help wondering why anyone would buy a Lee FCD and then remove the carbide ring. :confused: Doesn't that leave you with just a taper crimp die?

If you need just a taper crimp then there are better options. (I prefer the gentler angle of the RCBS taper crimp). If the problem is oversize or out of spec ammo then I think the best solution is to find the cause of the problem and correct it.

Gswain: Loading 38/357, I've found very few instances where a taper crimp is necessary. Usually the roll crimp included in the seating die is all that's needed. What is it you're trying to accomplish with the FCD?

Jerry

BTW....I can't help with removing the carbide ring. :roll:

Gohon
07-07-2011, 05:32 PM
Doesn't that leave you with just a taper crimp die?