PDA

View Full Version : 9mm...help

tberger27
06-14-2011, 06:56 PM
I am new to casting, and greatly looking forward to starting. I have a 125gr Round nose mould from LEE. I was planning on buying the LEE push thru sizing die aswell, however, didn't know what die to start with. I have been reading that 9mm are prone to leading and was just hoping yall could give me professional advise. Should I buy the .356, .357,etc...? I am using these loads as light loaded rounds for target accuracy. They will be shot from a FN FNX9. loading and lube (pan lubing) recomendations would be greatly appreciated as well! I have an information overload that has my head spinning and not knowing where to begin.

Boolseye
06-14-2011, 07:14 PM
I suggest you slug your barrel–then size your bullets to .001 or .002 over. I shoot .358 or .357 out of my 9mm. If I were to have one push-through die for 9mm it would be the .357. I only use my .356 for my .380 auto. You can tumble lube them if you want–I suggest 45-45-10 (see Recluse's sticky). Straight alox is a little messy. I've never pan-lubed or used a lubrisizer. For light target loads, tumble-lubing will probably be all you need, and it's very fast and easy. My favorite powder for 9mm cast shooting is Accurate #5, and I did a lot of testing using various powders and charges. 4.5 grains under your boolit will be light, will cycle the action and won't lead your barrel (much). I recommend you don't use the factory crimp die here, and only a light taper crimp so that your bullets retain their diameter. The 9mm is picky for cast boolits, but it's totally doable, and you have a good mold. be patient and you'll be fine. I have started shooting 158gr. SWC out of the 9mm, over a very light load of Bullseye (2.5 gr.) and they shoot great w/ very little leading. In my experience, very little leading is all you can hope for with the 9mm. Good luck.

tberger27
06-14-2011, 07:45 PM