PDA

View Full Version : Why Casting Will Never Die: Simple Math

Punisher422
06-12-2011, 04:34 PM
I am relatively new to casting (just around 6 months), but I am already casting buckshot, slugs, roundballs, and now I have delved into the world of casting for pistols. I am now casting 240 grain round nose bullets for my .44 mag Smith and Wesson 629. I am young (23) compared to many of you that frequent this forum, and ever since I started casting I have always wondered if it would die out over time. I now am pretty sure that casting will always be around.

I did the numbers after casting and loading my first batch of .44 mag. I don't count the price of the bullet mold (I figure eventually the price will even out to well below 1 cent a boolit) and cast with free wheelweights, which as most of you know are getting harder to find. The price for primer and powder equal out to 10 cents a round (rounding way up on price for the powder). Doing a little bit more math, that equals approximately $10 for 100 rounds of .44 mag. The going price for .44 mag target rounds at Walmart is $32 for fifty. The price of FMJ target 9mm rounds is $24 for 100 rounds. I'm now shooting my .44 for under half the price of the cheap 9mm rounds.

I've also been told by more than one person that no matter what I did, if I shoot lead bullets I'm going to get a lot of leading in my barrel. I now giggle to myself when I look down my barrel after shooting and find it cleaner than when I shoot jacketed. Thanks to all of you for getting me started on this addicting, money saving hobby.

mold maker
06-12-2011, 04:44 PM
Glad to have ya in the casting fraternity. You do realize that the money you save, will only partly pay, for the added rounds you shoot. Tee Hee

Punisher422
06-12-2011, 04:59 PM
I'm still waiting for the saving to start, but in reality I have WAY more equipment than I started with, and I also do a lot more shooting.

Longwood
06-12-2011, 05:57 PM