PDA

View Full Version : 98 mauser trigger pull help

shagg
06-06-2011, 06:08 PM
I have a 98 mauser chambered in 30/06 as well as a 8x57 98 mauser that i built 7 years ago (my first and only build). The 8x57 has an acceptable trigger pull but the 06 was 6lb+. I put a weaker spring and polished the area on the bottom of the receiver where the trigger rocks. This brought it down to 4.5lb. At 4.5 lb it still requires a tractor to pull. I removed the spring and realized the friction of the (sear?) pulling down from the firing pin is most of the problem. I cant understand this because the 8x57 has all the same parts and is not like the 06. I even polished the surfaces of those parts to decrease friction but its still the same.
Anybody have any trigger tricks short of spending a pile of cash on a timney? I'm a mechanic by trade and am very adept at fabricating, welding and such. Playing with triggers makes me a lil nervouse but if i have a known good plan im sure i can do it.

Thanks for any help,
Ron

Multigunner
06-06-2011, 06:43 PM
I have a 98 mauser chambered in 30/06 as well as a 8x57 98 mauser that i built 7 years ago (my first and only build). The 8x57 has an acceptable trigger pull but the 06 was 6lb+. I put a weaker spring and polished the area on the bottom of the receiver where the trigger rocks. This brought it down to 4.5lb. At 4.5 lb it still requires a tractor to pull. I removed the spring and realized the friction of the (sear?) pulling down from the firing pin is most of the problem. I cant understand this because the 8x57 has all the same parts and is not like the 06. I even polished the surfaces of those parts to decrease friction but its still the same.
Anybody have any trigger tricks short of spending a pile of cash on a timney? I'm a mechanic by trade and am very adept at fabricating, welding and such. Playing with triggers makes me a lil nervouse but if i have a known good plan im sure i can do it.

Thanks for any help,
Ron