PDA

View Full Version : Bulldog 44

kbstenberg
06-05-2011, 09:34 PM
I am looking at getting a 44spcl pistol. I was interested in getting a Taurus 431 or 441 but they are few to be had on Gunbroker. So I have turned my attention to the Bulldog in 44.
Can anyone give me there experiences with the Bulldog.
Kevin

subsonic
06-05-2011, 09:39 PM
I have no experience with those you mention, but would like to throw the S&W 396 and 696 in there for you to look at. These are L-frame 5 shot 44 specials. 396 is scandium (light!). They also have made the N-frame 6 shot 624 and 24 - but these are very large and much heavier.

C A Plater
06-05-2011, 10:01 PM
I have a .44 Bulldog and it is a very light gun. I mostly shoot cowboy action level loads (700-800fps) and find recoil quite manageable. It;s not a heavy duty type revolver but I've had no issues so far with the few hundred rounds I've put through it. Not as nice as the S&W but lots less money.

kbstenberg
06-05-2011, 10:03 PM
Subsonic
I did look at the Smiths but they are twice the price of either the Taurus or Bulldog.

Don Purcell
06-05-2011, 10:09 PM
Had one of the original 3" blued Bulldogs 34 years ago and wish I had it back. Initially I loaded 5 grains of Bullseye with a 250 grain Lyman "Keith" bullet. This load would pretty well shoot to the point of aim but would only bury the bullet in a hedge post with base flush with the post. Next load was 7.5 grains of Unique with the same bullet. Things started coming to life then (Still have a light scar on my thumb knuckle from the back of the cylinder) but I learned how to manage it. Charter Arms is supposed to bring this version back out according to their website and I plan on getting one.

richhodg66
06-05-2011, 10:31 PM