PDA

View Full Version : Info on hard cast

2_Smithereenz
06-05-2011, 04:33 PM
Could anybody point me in the right direction for info on hard cast?
What exactly IS hard cast, how do I make it, can I start with WW mix or do I need pure lead?
I know these are rookie questions, but I haven't been casting very long so I am a rookie. [smilie=s:

Links would be most helpful.........Thanks!

bumpo628
06-05-2011, 05:15 PM
That is a marketing term used by commercial casting companies to describe lead bullets.
They usually have a one-size-fits-all attitude and make everything to Brinell 18. They probably do that more to survive shipping than because it works well in your gun.

As a caster, you can make what works for you. Many people use a softer boolit in their low velocity rounds. You can mix WW with pure in a 50/50 ratio. Straight WW lead is very versatile and will work either air-cooled or water dropped for almost anything.

What calibers are you using?

2_Smithereenz
06-05-2011, 05:22 PM
I was going to try some of my cast .40's from a MP mold in my Glock 20 10mm. Had a guy over on Glock Talk tell me he shot hard cast out of his using the factory barrel. I guess I was thinking that hard cast must be a harder mix than my WW's are? He claims that he doesn't have any leading problems, but then he didn't say if he casts his own or buys them? I also don't know what lube he uses or any other details. I know there's a lot of other variables that go into a lead free load, but I thought I would find out what hard cast is first and go from there. I just don't hear that term very much in the circles I run, we just call everything cast unless it's a specific mix or alloy and then we specify what it is.

So theoretically I could make "harder" cast by water dropping? But I've also read that water dropping isn't always better either.

Thanks for the reply Bumpo.

bumpo628
06-05-2011, 06:21 PM