PDA

View Full Version : Expected life of Lyman Turbo Tumbler?

Wayne Smith
12-30-2006, 10:37 AM
My Turbo tumbler refused to work yesterday when I plugged it in. Other things work in the plug, so that's not it, as I first assumed. The cord is without visual flaw and the interior connections appear sealed. I've had it about 5 years and expected much more life from it than this.

I did notice that there appears to be oil on the underside of the motor case, not a good sign. I'm not sure I have wrenches small enough to remove the top four nuts, which appears to be the next step in disassembly. I'm no electrician, but was raised on a farm, if that's any use this many years later.

Any ideas? Have any of you taken one of these apart?

DaveInFloweryBranchGA
12-30-2006, 11:11 AM
Wayne,

Do you have a volt meter? If not, go buy yourself one. It doesn't have to be expensive or calibrated for this type of work.

Next, measure the AC voltage with the switch turned on at the motor. If it's 120 volts or something close, then your motor is likely bad. You can buy a new motor at an industrial supply outfit for around 10-15 dollars last I knew.

If the voltage is not around 120 volts, then your switch is likely at fault. The oil may or may not have much to do with the motor, unless a sealed lubricated bearing has lost a seal and burned up.

I hope this helps,

Dave

Phil
12-30-2006, 11:12 AM
The inline switch on mine will foul up sometimes, I just switch it on and off until it starts. I've probably had it about five years so maybe yours has the same problem. I'd check the current going to the motor with the switch on, maybe your switch has failed completely.

Cheers,

Phil

Johnch
12-30-2006, 11:19 AM
I picked up a motor from the local Graingers last year to replace a Lyman 1200
That I have had for 20 ?? years

If the oil is from the bearings , the motor is shot , replace

I have never had a switch problem , but those cheap rocker switchs can easly be replaced for a $1 or $2