PDA

View Full Version : .303 boolits?

lxvnrsw
06-02-2011, 03:29 PM
Hey guys,

Any luck shooting these?: http://www.gardnerscache.com/303brit_190_lrn_g_c.html
Load data, seating depth, range reports?

I just got a no4 mk1 and am getting into reloading at the same time. Since I'm a college student and cash is tight, I'm looking for some cheap bullets to run through it too so quite naturally I turned to cast bullets. I'm not quite ready to jump into casting my own, but do you guys have any other readily available (and cheap) bullets you'd recommend? Please include load data too....

madsenshooter
06-02-2011, 03:54 PM
I recommend right away, something bigger. Yes, they'll go bang, and come out the other end of the pipe, but will only frustrate you with a lack of accuracy and perhaps a leaded up barrel to boot. First thing to do is slug your barrel and see just what size you do need, perhaps then you can do some shopping. A relatively inexpensive and moderate kicking jacketed bullet would be the .310 diameter, 123gr, Hornady V-max available from Graf's. http://www.grafs.com/retail/catalog/category/categoryId/921? I found it best to stay close to 7.62x39 speeds, accuracy deteriorates above that speed.

lxvnrsw
06-02-2011, 04:02 PM
Interesting. Most guys I've talked to are saying that the no. 4's like bullets in the 180 grain range so I figured a 190 grain gas checked bullet wouldn't be too far off. I'll have to give those 123gr v max bullets a try.

BruceB
06-02-2011, 04:41 PM
It's not the weight, it's the diameter. .311 is simply too small for about 99.9% of the .303 rifles out there.

Even .314" is too small for a lot of them. I have a new NOE mould which drops the bullets at .316, and I intend to give these a trial UN-SIZED, meaning, at the size they fall from the mould.

Under-size bullets are among the primary causes of poor accuracy and bore leading.

caseyboy
06-02-2011, 07:44 PM