PDA

View Full Version : What to purchase for my first 22

RhodeHunter
05-29-2011, 10:15 AM
I'm new to shooting, and my main gun is a muzzleloader for hunting. But I need something to compete with my friends at the range.

My friends have Marlin auto-loaders. I was thinking I would enjoy a bolt-action better.

Is there such a thing as a reasonbly-priced American-made bolt action that you can install peep sights on? I would prefer that to a scope.

Nothing against competition shooters, but I would prefer a normal knock-about rifle rather than something weird-looking.

zuke
05-29-2011, 10:50 AM
How's about getting an old Mossburg or Steven's or if you were a Canadian an old Cooey!

wrench
05-29-2011, 12:14 PM
Here you go, complete with peeps
http://www.savagearms.com/firearms/models/
I have a different model of MkII, with a scope. Really a nice little gun for the price.

jh45gun
05-29-2011, 12:35 PM
Yes for a cheap tack driver look at the older Marlin Bolt guns like the Marlin80 or 81 most of them even if they did not come with peep sights are drilled for them. I have a Marlin 80 DL and a Sears branded Marlin 80 both are tack drivers. I paid 130 bucks for the Sears one at a gun show and it was mint and my 80 DL my friend sold to me for a good price which is my Silhouette gun. Besides the 80's and 81's there are the Glenfield models that are the same gun and newer models that have not really changed at all up to today. These guns can benifit from a trigger job which is easy to do Rimfire Central has all the info on it. It took me less than 5 min to put in a lighter trigger spring to give the gun a 2 pound trigger as is what my other 80 has.

HeavyMetal
05-29-2011, 01:28 PM
Savage is a good buy and, if you don't mind spending a little more on the ammo, the 17HMR's come with the accu trigger.

Tom-ADC
05-29-2011, 02:00 PM
Savage is a good buy and, if you don't mind spending a little more on the ammo, the 17HMR's come with the accu trigger.