PDA

View Full Version : Should I buy Lyman#2 or use wheel weights?

Fourty5seventy
05-25-2011, 10:05 PM
Hello
I am new to cast boolits and bullet casting. I have an endless supply of wheel weights because I work as a mechanic and my company has 13 shops. But I don't know if I can use wheel weights for all of my needs. I am going to cast for the .22 hornet the 45/70 and the .243 Winchester. Question is do I use wheel weights or buy some lyman#2 or use WW's for 45/70 and buy Lyman#2 for .22 hornet and .243?

Thanks

grisy11
05-25-2011, 10:19 PM
I use WW in 9mm 357 and 44 mag and it works real good.for the rifles do the molds have GC?
If so then WW should work good i would think

zuke
05-25-2011, 10:35 PM
I use straight WW for everything, 45 Win Mag and my 45-70's.
I paper patch for the 45-70's, no leading that way!
What ever you don't use you can alway's sell.
Where about's are you located?

Stick_man
05-26-2011, 12:57 AM
First off, welcome to the forum. You are very lucky if you have an unlimited supply of wheelweights. They are starting to get pretty scarce around here due to all the environmental liberals. The WWs should do you fine especially if used with a gas check, even for the rifles. Worst case scenario, mix it with a little linotype and it will be plenty hard for the .243 or .45/70. You could probably even just use straight WWs (clip-ons) and water-drop them for higher velocity loads. The stick-on lead weights are generally considered about 99% pure lead and are too soft for rifle loads without mixing with something else to harden them up. A little linotype works wonders with them too.

Good luck, and welcome to the addiction.

Fourty5seventy
05-26-2011, 07:06 AM
Thanks guys I will try the WW's and see how it works. I am from the Stratford area Zuke.

zuke
05-26-2011, 08:18 PM
A little out of my way to drive to at present, but I do get down to the Orillia area quite often, I lived 20 year's down there.

Matt_G
05-26-2011, 08:31 PM