PDA

View Full Version : Has anyone here used an Ammo Load machine?

Bullwolf
05-22-2011, 11:21 PM
When I was younger, I used to work as a re-loader for a small company based in the back of a public gun range. We would just recycle range pistol brass mostly, using a few of the full size Dillon progressive presses equipped with case feeders.

The company had a pair of older Ammo Load machines. They looked like this.
http://www.ammoload.com/markIII-tapered.jpg
http://www.ammoload.com/MarkIII-Straight-sm.jpg
I am going to assume that the presses were the The Ammo Load Mark III - Handgun Ammunition Reloader.

I noticed they have a website up.
http://www.ammoload.com/
It was kind of neat to watch the You tube video of the Ammo Load machine in action.

I worked at that range for quite a long time, up until the point where the owner sold the range, along with the reloading business. Since I was the only experienced re-loader they had ever hired, I pretty much got to run the Dillon's full time.

Experience, in this case was defined as having previously used a reloading press.
(For me it was an RCBS Rockchucker press, with the old piggy back conversion)

We had one self proclaimed "expert" who worked there. He was a slightly older gentleman, who happened to live with his mother. He also had a serious problem with the female employees in the company.

He pretty much just would sit around, watch me re-load, and non constructively criticize the other employees.

The boss/owner (who was not a shooter, or re-loader) figured that the gentleman must have known all there was to know about reloading, since he had gray hair, and promoted him to supervisor despite the protests of all the other employees.

I won't go on about his psychological problems, or his horribly slipshod reloading practices. I will say that it was a miracle that he lived to the ripe old age that he managed to achieve. It must be true what they say, God really does look after fools and idiots.