PDA

View Full Version : loads for a Browning Hi wall TH

65panman
05-22-2011, 11:00 AM
I'm a new guy to the BPCR.
I bought a Browning Hi Wall Traditional Hunter, in 45-70. A 1998 model.
I'm also new to boolit casting, and reloading. I know, here's a greenhorn, let's play with him for awhile!
Wondering if any body with a similar rifle, would have a decent load, to start with?
Looks like the boolit to use would be a Lyman 457125?
With a twist rate of 1/12, would the gun shoot better with a light boolit, or a heavy boolit?
Right now, I'm more interested in offhand shooting, at closer range's.
I'm thinking if I got into long range shooting I'd need a different rifle, which would also mean a different cartridge?
Thanks
Jim

montana_charlie
05-22-2011, 12:58 PM
If you don't own the mould yet, it would be a good idea to buy some bullets of two or three styles ... to try out in your rifle.

With a twist rate of 1/12, would the gun shoot better with a light boolit, or a heavy boolit?
If that is true, you would be looking at a very heavy bullet.
But, I don't think 1 in 12 is correct for that rifle.

It is probably 1 in 18, or possibly as slow as 1 in 20 inches.

If true, standard bullet designs between 400 and 550 grains will work for you.

CM

Bullshop
05-22-2011, 01:06 PM
You will find lots of 45/70 Browning owners here with both 1885 and 1886 rifles.
I personally have never seen a bad one and I have seen or had many. They all have shot good.
I think you may have made a mistake on the twist there. You said 12" but I think it will be 18". The 18" will handle anything you could conceivably want to shoot in it up to approaching 600gn depending on the design.
The Hunter model being lighter than the long range model may be a deciding factor in your boolit choice due to recoil.
If you only going to shoot moderate range say less than 500 yards you can do well with a lighter boolit than the 457125. That one will go 520 to 530gn depending on alloy.