PDA

View Full Version : Why has no one made a mold like this (two row, 12 cav.)?

Whistler
05-17-2011, 07:57 AM
I sat looking at pictures of the old H&G molds and lo! Behold the inspiration!
I'm no CAD artist, so please excuse my crude MSPaint drawing...

Why do we not have molds like this?
With aluminum blocks and cavities for .35 cal or such it would not be overly heavy.

http://img849.imageshack.us/img849/1923/12cavmold.jpg

MiHec
05-17-2011, 08:05 AM
How much are you prepared to pay for this mold?

I think I answer your question :p:p:p:p:p

Whistler
05-17-2011, 08:10 AM
Just the man I wanted to see in this thread! ;)

I guess it'd have to be a group buy to see it below astronomical sums?

CWME
05-17-2011, 08:13 AM
I can drain a 20# pot with a 6 cav pretty quickly. I ordered a 10 cav NOE 22 mold but that uses 40 gr per boolet and should take a while to drain the pot. IMO you would need a big pot to make something like that pay off.

MiHec
05-17-2011, 08:33 AM
A GB would be only option, I think.

But still price (acceptable) would be under question mark :-?

There is not only mold, but you need " built in" handles

I have some ideas, but need some additional thinking :coffeecom

wiljen
05-17-2011, 09:34 AM
what would force the upper end of the mold (away from the handles) to close and align properly?

With a pivot pin on the handle connection, you don't have the leverage on the upper end of the mold to make it close tight enough to work well is my suspicion.

cbrick
05-17-2011, 09:49 AM
Well, can't speak for others but if Miha made this I would buy it just because of how unique it would be and because Miha made it.

A great bullet for this concept would be the RCBS 55 gr FPGC. This bullet shoots great in my Hornet, the only downside is that pesky RCBS 2 cavity thing.

Another bullet that I would jump on is the RCBS 35 caliber 180 gr silhouette. This is the bullet that I cast the most of and there's that RCBS 2 cav thing again.

Rick

cbrick
05-17-2011, 09:56 AM