PDA

View Full Version : help newbe with molds

fire hawk
05-12-2011, 08:29 AM
I'm new to muzzleloading and casting, and thought I would try casting boolits, so I bought a double 50cal rb mold, and a maxi ball mold. After I got them, from several different sources, and screwed them onto the handles, the molds are sloppy. they're nice and tight when closed, but open they move around alot is this normal? Thanks

Al

waksupi
05-12-2011, 09:46 AM
Yep, that's normal.

Maven
05-12-2011, 06:59 PM
Small washers such as those you get in kits from Home Depot or Lowes may help remove some of the slop. You may have to trim/grind the round surfaces that fit against the mold blocks though.

MikeS
05-14-2011, 11:20 AM
Not only is it normal, but it's needed. If the moulds were tightly mounted to the handles, then the handles would be what is lining the blocks up with each other. By being loose on the handles they can sort of float and when you close them, the locating pins on the mould blocks mate the 2 halves together, so the handles are only supplying pressure to keep them together.

I had a set of Lyman 'small' handles that somebody had modified so you can mount larger 2 cavity blocks on them (converting them into 'large' handles), but they only modified one side, so while it was possible to use a 2 cavity mould on them, it was difficult, as there wasn't enough slop on the unmodified side to let the blocks mate easily. Once I filed the other side similarly to the other side then the handles worked fine for 2 cavity moulds. I also took another pair of 'small' handles I had here and filed both side equally to convert them into 'large' handles, and now I have a 2 cavity mould mounted on them as well.