PDA

View Full Version : Question for KY hunters

Boz330
05-06-2011, 11:18 AM
Anybody from KY ever see or heard of anybody seeing a wolf in KY?

I was on the way home from work last Friday evening when what I thought initially was a coyote ran across the road in front of the vehicle in front of me. My second impression was that this was a huge coyote. As I passed the area where it had gone I saw a critter that looked the size of a German shepherd but it definitely wasn't.
To qualify things a little the total time seeing this canine was only a couple seconds at most. It ran across a rural 2 lane road. It ran down a lane to a farm field perpendicular to that road and there was tree line next to that lane that only allowed a brief look of it going away. The coloring was coyote like but the size was bigger than any coyote that I have ever seen and I've seen quite a few and have shot several as well. I worked as a guide in NM for a number of years and had seen Mexican Grey Wolves on several occasions from an airplane while low level scouting for elk. The first time I saw the wolves there I thought the same thing about the size. Then I found out that they had been introduced out there, much to the consternation of the ranchers.
I have never heard of wolves in KY but wonder if it was possibly an escaped pet wolf or cross. This thing acted totally wild though in the way it crossed the road and traveled down the lane.

Bob

beagle
05-06-2011, 11:46 AM
I was coming up the Bluegrass Parkway one night heading for Lexington about 11:30 and right past Lichfield where the coal mines were, I approached a bridge approach. Right before I got to the bridge, two yotes and something big (almost twice the size of the yotes) crossed the road about 75 yards in front of me.

I'll always beleive it was a wolf although FWL says there's aren't any here but they say that about bears too most of the time but we have 'em./beagle

44fanatic
05-06-2011, 05:26 PM