PDA

View Full Version : Bullet question

chiefappraiser
05-05-2011, 02:03 PM
I am new to post on this site, but I was hopfull that you could answer a question. I am currently shooting a 225 grain 45 acp ww boolit that measures .452. It seems to shoot good, and shows no sign of leading. I am looking for another mold that may cast more boolits at a time, and more accurate. I noticed that some molds give a measurment of .454. Is there any advantage to casting a larger boolit?
I have sluged my barrel and it meaures .452.

Bomberman
05-05-2011, 02:31 PM
If you've slugged your barrel and it's a .452 then there is no reason you cannot shoot a .454 boolit. The advantage to shooting a larger boolit is that is fills out the grooves better and makes a better gas seal...this will usually prevent leading and give you better accuracy. A boolit too small and you will get gas cutting on the sides and it will leave a trail of lead up your barrel and accuracy will go out the window.

Hope this helps.

chiefappraiser
05-05-2011, 04:28 PM
So what you are telling me is that the boollit needs to be about .002 larger that the bore, to prevent gas from escaping. If this is the case where does the extra lead go to when the boolit is forced down the barrel?

dragonrider
05-05-2011, 04:52 PM
Boolit just gets a little longer is all, it's unnoticeable.

pdawg_shooter
05-05-2011, 04:53 PM
So what you are telling me is that the boollit needs to be about .002 larger that the bore, to prevent gas from escaping. If this is the case where does the extra lead go to when the boolit is forced down the barrel?

Sometimes, and sometimes not. You don't know till you try. .001/.002 over bore is a start, but a start only. Every firearm is a law onto it's own. The bullet will size down to fit the bore, but that doesn't always give the best accuracy. A lot depends on the alloy and the pressure generated by your loads.

chiefappraiser
05-05-2011, 04:56 PM