PDA

View Full Version : Help with 45-70 loads

robert william
12-18-2006, 11:41 AM
I was reading through a long string of coments concerning ringed barrels. I am rather new to the CB game, having cut my teeth on the jacketed variety. Currently I am loading the 45-70 with a cast WW bullet of 500 gr. (Lee), no gas check. I am placing a tight fitting card wad against the base of the bullet followed by a tight fitting lubed felt wad. The wads are tight against the base of the bullet. My powder charge is 13.2 gr of Unique and a Federal LR primer. The loads are very accurate and I am getting no leading.
Am I risking my barrel? Are there better recipies for approximating BP performance?
I am using the wads because that is what I did when loading BP and it does seem to help keep the barrel clean. I tried Alox as a lube but got leading with the above powder charge so I went back to 33% bees wax/ 66% lard as a lube. It works in my musket and 45 Colt and seems to work fine here. I am still concerned about damaging my barrel however. I would appreciate any advice your greater experience might offer.

felix
12-18-2006, 11:47 AM
There are no guarantees for any kind of load, Robert. Just experiences that we collectively have which approximate 100 percent safety. The load(s) presented in your memo are in that latter category. Just keep things tight against the boolit and you SHOULD be 100 percent OK. ... felix

robert william
12-18-2006, 12:07 PM
:-D Thanks Felix, I was starting to think I was going down the wrong road. I would have stayed with BP for my loading but can no longer get the powder I like (WANO Schwartz Pulver) so I tried to find a smokeless loas that was in the same ballpark. All I can buy around here is GOEX, works fine in my frontstuiffers but I can not get it to perform in my NEF.