PDA

View Full Version : gloves or no gloves.

Pages : [1] 2

craveman85
05-02-2011, 03:04 AM
just thought i would do a poll on how many of you guys use gloves while casting. personally i dont because i cant stand having stuff on my hands. im also very clumsy when wearing gloves and have been known to spill stuff. ive been smelting lead and casting for about 5 years now and no burns except when you get a little droplet that bounces off the skin. (i do wear an apron, boots, and a face shield though)

stubshaft
05-02-2011, 03:27 AM
I didn't used to and have the scars to prove it!

I wear one on my right hand mainly to turn the sprue cutter, and strike off the sprue. The sprue drops off right in my gloved palm and I drop it into the pot as I reach for my rawhide mallet to open the mould. It makes it so much easier.

warf73
05-02-2011, 03:59 AM
+1 gloved hand, its the easiest way to open up lee 2 cavity molds. I don't alway used gloves when using lee 6 cavity molds.

Ugluk
05-02-2011, 06:15 AM
I return the sprues to the pot after breaking it. I'm not man enough to do that without gloves. Also good when opening molds without dowel.

Hickory
05-02-2011, 07:09 AM
No gloves=burns
gloves=no burns

easy choice.

Ajax
05-02-2011, 07:28 AM
I use a glove on my right hand to open sprue plate,

Andy

LUCKYDAWG13
05-02-2011, 07:47 AM
Burns suck gloves 100%
eye wear too

btroj
05-02-2011, 07:59 AM
No gloves, always glasses.

casterofboolits
05-02-2011, 08:17 AM
Always a gauntlet glove on the left hand, apron, safety glasses and a ball cap. Learned the hard way.

songdog53
05-02-2011, 08:20 AM
Gloves and eye wear and boots too cause hot lead = burns and some can be really bad. Rahter be pouring boolits than healing.

Guesser
05-02-2011, 08:39 AM
Been casting for 40 years, no gloves, no burns other than the minute ones caused by spatter from the Lee dripomatic I've been using since 1980.

lurch
05-02-2011, 08:55 AM