PDA

View Full Version : Free range lead

koehlerrk
04-30-2011, 10:58 PM
Anyone here pick up range lead? I did a little "harvesting" today at the pistol range, and about 10 minutes work netted me about 15lbs of lead, copper, and some dirt from the berm. So, my question is, who's done this, and what's the best way to turn this into ingots?

I could wash and strain it, that would get rid of the dirt and small stones. Then dry it all, then put it in the pot, cold, and slowly bring it up to temp.

Anyone got a better idea?

btroj
04-30-2011, 11:18 PM
Do it all the time. I just put them in a cold smelting pot, bring up to melting point, flux and skim. This gets the dirt, jackets, and other crud out. Then pour ingots.
I always start with an empty pot as the dirt and jackets can easily hold enough moisture to summon the tinsel fairy if added to molten lead.

koehlerrk
04-30-2011, 11:27 PM
OK, thanks. I've been doing this casting stuff for about two years now, and my ever-increasing production of boolits is requiring an ever-increasing supply of lead.

The part that worried me was getting it dry enough before smelting, but I figured if I started it in a cold pot, it would boil off the water as it heats up. Seemed logical, but I wanted someone else to agree with my logic before I did it.

Thanks!

zxcvbob
04-30-2011, 11:37 PM
The part that worried me was getting it dry enough before smelting, but I figured if I started it in a cold pot, it would boil off the water as it heats up. Seemed logical, but I wanted someone else to agree with my logic before I did it.
Yep, that's how it works.

I could wash and strain it, that would get rid of the dirt and small stones. Then dry it all, then put it in the pot, cold, and slowly bring it up to temp.

Anyone got a better idea?Yeah, don't wash it. Just pick out a few of the rocks and bullet jackets if it makes you feel better.

plainsman456
04-30-2011, 11:53 PM
I just sort of shake the dirt and pick the rocks out first.