PDA

View Full Version : new! help for 7.26 x 39 and 45 ACP

medic44
12-16-2006, 11:37 PM
I'm new to cast boolits for cartridge guns. I've cast for muzzle loaders for years. I have several questions.

1) What are some full power loads for 7.62x 39? I have the Lee CTL312 160 2R mold.

2) Are straight WWs ok for this? How about soft lead?

3) Is Lee liquid Alox good for this?

4) Do I need gas checks for thes loads?

5) Someone gave me all of their old casting supplies. I have about 1000 .308 gas checks. Can I use them on these boolits?

6) Do I need to get a Lee sizer to place gas checks? What size?

7) I just got a new in box Tarus 45 ACP. Should I break this gun in w/ cast boolits?

8) I have a Lee TL452 230 2R mold. Is this a good mold for this gun?

9) Should I use soft lead or WWs for this gun? (I have 600 lb of both)

10) Is Lee Alox ok for this?

I have a 9 shooting station 2.2 mile walking range on my place and I am looking forward to being able to save enough money w/ cast boolits so that I can use it!!!

medic44
12-16-2006, 11:46 PM
I forgot to state that the 7.63 x 39s are SKS

Ricochet
12-17-2006, 12:16 AM
I can't help you with 7.62x39 loads. But if you're wanting to shoot full power loads, you're going to have to have very hard bullets, as with pure wheel weights either dropped into water from the mould, or after sizing and checking, heating to 450 degreees in the oven for at least a half hour and dumping into cold water. You will have to have gas checks. The gas checks for the .308 will be fine. Gas checks for all the thirty calibers are the same. I think the Lee push through sizers are the best way to put them on. I would first try a .314" die, if bullets run through that will seat in the cases and the loaded rounds will chamber easily. If not, try a .311", which is the next size down. That's a very useful size for standard thirties. I don't know if LLA will work well in an SKS or not. I've never handloaded for mine.