PDA

View Full Version : Newbie needing help

zeke08
04-28-2011, 12:24 AM
I am new to casting I am wanting to get started I have purchased Lyman's casting handbook #3 shipped today. I am looking for info on what do I need to buy to get started. All I have is a couple 5 gal buckets of wheel weights that I got some 15-18 yrs ago as a mechanic and hoping to start casting. What kind of melter, equipment tools molds etc do I need? I want to make bullets in 9mm, .40, 38/357, 45acp, 10mm, and maybe some rifle rounds. What other books or DVD's can you recommend to help some one get started. Thanks in advance!

stubshaft
04-28-2011, 12:43 AM
There is an amazing amount of knowledge on this site. I would recommend you go to the bottom of the page and read the articles in the Castpic andCast bullet Notes by the Lasc. There are also "stickies" for each section of this site go through and read those that pertain to your interests. Above all if you have any questions ASK. The amount of information available will make the Lyman Cast Bullet handbook look like a pamphlet.

shotman
04-28-2011, 12:53 AM
stubs right
as for starting a turkey cooker burner and old cast pot to do the first melt and clean up the lead . a couple lee ingot molds
If you are just starting would go with the cheap 2 cav lees till you get the "feel" for it if you mess one up your not out much
the lee 20lb is good deal and I have used one for 25 years
oh and last KROIL rick
one thing too the lee tumble lube works so get the TL mold to start . heat the lube and it goes a LONG way

04-28-2011, 12:53 AM
The Lyman handbook you ordered will have much information regarding equipment.

Also, check out the Archive, located near the bottom of the page.

A Lyman Reloading Handbook is a must have, because of their cast handgun and reduced rifle loads.

I dare say that 90% of your answers will be found by reading. However, if that doesn't work, ask away.

BulletFactory
04-28-2011, 12:56 AM