PDA

View Full Version : My version of angle iron ingot molds.

BigRix
04-27-2011, 12:35 AM
I'm looking to start casting soon but started off with smelting first to get my feet wet. I found this sight to be invaluable and I have already learned a lot. Being a tight wad I didn't want to spend a lot of money so everything I have done so far has been by scrounging. As an auto mechanic I started by melting wheel weights at work to get the hang of it.

http://i576.photobucket.com/albums/ss208/BigRix/ef97e449.jpg

http://i576.photobucket.com/albums/ss208/BigRix/c2bf8645.jpg

If a picture is worth a thousand words then maybe this video is worth more. It should explain how thing went and how I ended up with my version of an ingot mold.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IVLgujGVAqU

Let me know what you guys think.

Combat Diver
04-27-2011, 01:01 AM
BigRix,

Looks nice and usable. Welcome to the site.

CD

Southern Son
04-27-2011, 04:56 AM
Bigg Rix, Can you tell me what the dimentions of you Ingot mould is, specifically, how long are the ingots? Did you use 1 inch angle iron? And finally, what do your ingots weigh? I want to make one of my own like yours, and I want it to drop either 1 or 2 pound ingots.

And welcome to the madness. Your lucky, working somewhere you can get your own Wheel Weights. Being in the trade may make it easier for you to get other sources, too.

BigRix
04-27-2011, 09:16 AM
The angle iron is 1/4" thick and measures 4" long at the "V" with a slight taper. I did not measure the length of the long sides. I cut the taper by placing a piece of scrap tubing under the stock when I cut them on the chop saw. I had to do some fitting to get them all the same size. If I can trust my wife's kitchen scale the ingots are dropping at 16-18 ounces.

mckutzy
04-27-2011, 10:04 PM