PDA

View Full Version : Wont pan lubing soften hard cast boolits?

Matabele
04-22-2011, 09:26 AM
Hi all,

Im new to all this and tried my hand at pan lubing some boolits today. As soon as the lube touched the bullets in the pan it started to solidify, and didnt fill out the grooves well at all. So I tried again and this time put the boolits into the holes left from the first go. I put the whole pan into the oven, with the door open and slowly brought the lube up to melt point over about half an hour or so.

What Im worried about is that bringing the boolits up to heat like that and letting them cool slowly will anneal and soften them. They are cast from wheel weights and were dropped into water straight from the mold about a week ago. I dont have access to a hardness tester to check my theory.

Is this something to worry about, or is the temp too low to anneal?

Calamity Jake
04-22-2011, 09:38 AM
If you heat the boolits/lube together as you did with just enough heat to melt the lube then you wll be just fine, it takes 250+° to anneal the boolits any.

HammerMTB
04-22-2011, 09:39 AM
Some temp info for you:
200F should melt your lube just fine. Boolits @ 200F will not anneal.
If you heat lube to 400F it will be smoking like mad, may even auto-ignite, I can't be sure, but certainly would not want to test that. Somewhere between 400-450F your boolits would anneal.
So you have a pretty wide window in which to pan lube, and there are some clear signs of rising temps.

BABore
04-22-2011, 09:40 AM
You have to be above 275 F, for WW alloy, to even begin to anneal the hardened boolit. I did a lengthy experiment, years ago, to determine what each 25 F temperature increase would anneal a 28 BHN, oven heat treated, WW boolit to after a 1 hr soak then left in the oven to cool. If your oven temperature is in the 150 to 200 F range you are likely speeding up the hardening process more than annealing it. Lower heat speeds hardening and putting them in the freezer retards it.

Reg