PDA

View Full Version : dirty bullets.

bryonbush
04-11-2011, 11:15 PM
ive been snooping around your website for quite a few years now and just joined. i have a question that i hope someone can find a solution for me. recently ive noticed that ive been getting a lot of **** in my bullets. i started fluxing with more wax, and that didnt do much good. took the pot appart, scrubbed it with some brass pad real well to clean it out. started casting this weekend after the good clean, and it started off good. but then it came back. fluxed with sawdust this time and though its better, i still have **** in the bullets. i melt wheel weights in a seperate pot, then flux it, then put it in minni muffin trays so the ingots fit better in the lee pot. any suggestions?

bigjake
04-11-2011, 11:26 PM
I had the same problem. make sure you push the sawdust or wax down deep into the melt and scrape the sides and bottom of the pot. both smelting and casting pots.
I still got some dirt in my boolits. but hey, you know what? they shot beautifully, those dirty ********. :razz:

bryonbush
04-11-2011, 11:42 PM
yeah i scrape the sides and bottoms. but its true, they still shoot well. i tumble lube so i dont think its hurting the gun much.

btroj
04-12-2011, 07:42 AM
Dirt and other crud will not just float to the top even though it is lighter than lead. Some of it stays suspended within the melt. Fluxing helps some but the real key is giving the melt a good stir. This will bring the crud to the top where it can be skimmed off. You will be amazed and what it will bring to the top. I have remelted bullets with a gas check and had the check suspend in the melt until I stirred.

Bret4207
04-12-2011, 07:56 AM