PDA

View Full Version : AR-15 gas tube

45-70bpcr
04-11-2011, 07:48 PM
Time for a new barrel for my Rock River A2 nm. This is my first time. I have the barrel and tools.
Removed the roll pin but the stinking thing will not come out. I've soaked it for 4 days with Kroil and still can not get it out. I am ok with just ordering a new tube and cutting this one out I guess, but want to make sure I am not missing something obvious first? Do these things really get this crudded in? I have 7k rounds or so through it.

Thanks for any help

John Traveler
04-11-2011, 08:21 PM
I'mjust curious why you are doing a rebarrel after only 7,000 rounds.

Service life of that barrel should be 3x or 4x that figure.

To remove the gas tube, try clamping a tubing flaring holding tool around it, and use the flaring tool to pry against the front sight assembly.

45-70bpcr
04-11-2011, 09:46 PM
Well my 600 yd. has really fallen off. May just be me but the better high power shooters I talk to said 5k of 77 grn. loads and they put a new barrel on. It may not help me but after 7 seasons I am ok with trying it. I like your idea of the flaring tool. I will give it a go.

Thanks!

scb
04-11-2011, 10:02 PM
In a vice with !smooth! soft jaws (I prefer aluminum) clamp the gas tube running the length of the jaws with the barrel resting on the top of the jaws. Carefully tap the back end of the receiver with a soft (plastic/rawhide) hammer. This is the method I use. Never had one I couldn't get out and have never damaged anything.

btroj
04-11-2011, 10:07 PM
5K is a fair amount for a NRA high-power gun. I have rebarreled well before that a time or two. If it won't hold the 6 inch X ring at 600 how can you be sure what you are doing?

I can't help you on your problem, I always sent mine out for rebarreling. I do not have the know how to fix them, I just shoot them.

garandsrus
04-11-2011, 10:14 PM
John Traveler,