PDA

View Full Version : What I have been doing the past 6+ months

Boerrancher
04-11-2011, 12:49 PM
I haven't been around to post a lot lately, simply because I havn't been shooting much lately. With the cost of fuel and components, mainly components because I can shoot here on the farm all I want. I can't afford the expensive primers and powder, and I refuse to break into my vacume packed primers that I have put back for tougher times.

Other than taking care of the livestock and the children I have been working on primitive tools and weapons. Last fall I even took a couple of whitetails with my stick and string bow and hand made stone tipped arrows. I have learned to make stone axes and tomahawks and use them with great effectiveness. I guess the thing that the most important thing I have learned is that primitive technology does not mean ineffective, it only means the first.

Here is a pic of some of the items I have made. I am not good with photography so I apologize in advance from the picture quality.

http://i279.photobucket.com/albums/kk155/Boerrancher/Lithicarts/Paleoitems.jpg

In the photo there are a few knives, a full groove stone axe head made from Basalt, a tomahawk, an arrow with a stone broadhead, and My Atlatl, atlatl dart, and a couple of inserts for the dart. I also tossed in a couple of points and blades made from various types of Chert and Flint. If you would like to see more of my points and such, here is the link to my photo bucket "Lithic Arts" album.

http://s279.photobucket.com/albums/kk155/Boerrancher/Lithicarts/

Now that spring has rolled around, and I think the snow is finally finished falling, had 11 inches of the white stuff 2 weeks ago, I can start getting out a bit more and doing some shooting. I will also be doing more casting as it is fast approaching the time to start berm mining again.

Best wishes from the Boer Ranch,

Joe

RP
04-11-2011, 03:57 PM